Surrey Industrial History Group

A Guide to the Industrial History of the Borough of Waverley

The Borough of Waverley in south-west Surrey was formed under the re-organisation of local government in 1974 and named after Waverley Abbey, the first Cistercian house in England which was founded in 1128. It was created from the Borough of Godalming, the Urban Districts of Farnham and Haslemere, and Hambledon Rural District and its four main centres of population are the towns of Godalming. Farnham and Haslemere and the village of Cranleigh.


A Guide to the Industrial History of Surrey Heath Borough

The name Surrey Heath has no historical connections being merely a convenient description of the area covered by the Borough created in 1974 by the union of Frimley and Camberley Urban District Council and Bagshot Rural District Council. In 1990 the part of Sunningdale in Surrey Heath was transferred, together with another part in the Borough of Runnymede, to the Royal Borough of Windsor and Maidenhead in Berkshire, to be united with the rest of Sunningdale.



Subscribe to RSS - Surrey Industrial History Group